New Umpires all set for ITF-Ireland Cup

National Umpire course module one on this morning with Master Robert Howard and Master Mark O’Donnell. Online this year...

Posted by Republic of Ireland Taekwon-Do Association on Sunday, February 21, 2021
New Umpires all set for ITF-Ireland Cup

Congratulations to all the black belts who passed the recent RITA National Umpire course. The course was hosted by Dublin North East Taekwon-Do School in Donneycarney, and conducted by Master Robert Howard and Master Mark O’Donnell of the RITA’s Umpire Committee.

The course covered all aspects of judging national Taekwon-Do competitions; patterns, sparring, power and special technique. The day balanced presentations, interactive scoring, discussion, and practical experience, and saw all the umpires converge to a common consensus in scoring patterns and sparring. The relaxed atmosphere was evident in the open discussions and opinions from experienced and novice umpires alike.

The newly qualified umpires are now ready to put their new skills to use at the upcoming ITF-Ireland Cup on the 11th April. The tournament will be an extra special day as we will be celebrating Taekwon-Do 60th birthday.


Name School National Umpire level Certificate Number
Tim Collins Galway A 15-UA-01
Martin Mahoney Galway A 15-UA-02
Nathan Fox Stillorgan C 15-UC-01
Chris Gaffney Dublin North East C 15-UC-02
Fergal Hennigan Stillorgan C 15-UC-03
Aidan Kelly St Marks C 15-UC-04
Caoimhe Keogh Galway C 15-UC-05
Dara Keogh Galway C 15-UC-06
Laura Keogh Galway C 15-UC-07
Niamh Keogh Galway C 15-UC-08
John Malone GM Howard’s C 15-UC-09
Brian Murray Blessington C 15-UC-10
Paul Murphy Dublin North East C 15-UC-11
Pat Walsh Dublin North East C 15-UC-12

International Umpires

  Name   School ITF Cert No Date of Issue
Master Robert Howard GM Howards 536 9/10/92
Master John Jacob Waterford 567 9/10/92
Master Martin Murphy Enniscorthy 704 25/10/99
Grand Master Francis Barrett   310 27/11/83
Master Valerie Keane St Mark’s 708 25/10/99
Master Stephen Doyle Old Bawn 809 14/10/01
Master Donal O’Doherty Watergrass Hill 825 27/10/02

If your details are incorrect or you are not included on this list please contact the Umpire Committee chair

Back to news >>

RITA Committees
All RITA members are encouraged to get involved in the Comittees by either submitting ideas or by joining them. Click here to view full contact details for all of the Committees.
Squad Training
ITF Ireland Team



Colour Belt Squad

National Colour Belt Squad Training:

This training is open to all RITA colour belts, male and female, junior and senior including veterans. For more information please contact Mr Adam Fox, Coach on 087-6900948 (

TKD Supplies

TKD Supplies

RITA Instructors and Students can now view the TKD Supplies stock online. Click here to see our latest prices and stock.

In Memoriam

Gen Choi Hong Hi
Founder of Taekwon-Do
1918 - 2002
Follow us on Twitter
Visit us on facebook
RITA YouTube Channel

© copyright 2021 Republic of Ireland Taekwon-Do Association. All information correct at time of publication